Support Licensing of Naturopathic Physicians in NC

Support NC Licensing of Naturopathic Physicians

by William Franklin on Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 9:31am

In the next 2 weeks, we need to make sure each person on the list below is contacted and encouraged to support HB1404 and SB1043.  This bill allows ND’s trained at accredited universities and colleges to sit for licensure in NC and practice medicine as we were trained to do. 

Here are some talking points you can include in your communications along with your own personal story explaining why you want us to be licensed….

A naturopathic doctor is an expert in natural medicine and is someone who has been trained and has received a degree in naturopathy from one of the six accredited naturopathic medical schools in North America.

Licensure of naturopathic doctors would allow consumers to distinguish practitioners who have been educated and trained in one of the six accredited naturopathic medical schools from individuals who may have completed correspondence courses or learned their skills through less formal pathways thus providing protection for patients who choose non-conventional medicine or wish to blend conventional and non-conventional health care.

Legislators need to provide a pathway to licensure for individuals who have been educated and trained in the field of naturopathic medicine and, thus, provide protection for patients who choose non-conventional medicine or wish to blend conventional and non-conventional health care

Sixteen states and provinces (Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oregon, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands) currently license naturopathic doctors, and efforts are underway in five other states to license and regulate the practice of naturopathic medicine.

The North Carolina Association of Naturopathic Physicians (NCANP) is a professional organization of clinically trained and formally educated doctors of naturopathic medicine. The organization currently has 30 members who are naturopathic physicians — each of whom has at least eight combined years of college and Naturopathic medical school and meet the national standards for licensure in the USA.  Those national standards include completion of a professional Naturopathic Degree from a four-year residential Naturopathic Medical School accredited by the federally recognized accrediting body, the Council on Naturopathic Medical Education, and successful passage of two sets of the Naturopathic Physicians Licensing Exams.

NC residents make the most impact but if you live outside NC you can also have a say.  Some have explained that they come to Asheville or western NC specifically for its alternative and complementary healthcare providers and then describe your experiences seeing an ND.  If you haven’t seen an ND but would if we were licensed and/or able to take insurance or you could be reimbursed through your insurance include this in your communcations.  

One email letter sent to 44 people or phone conversations averaging 1-2 minute each will make a huge difference.  The list of people who need to hear from you are… 

House Health:

Chairman Rep. Current: (919) 733-5809 E-mail: Bill.Current@ncleg.net

Chairman Rep. Dollar: 919-715-0795 E-mail: Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net

Chairman Rep. Hollo: (919) 715-8351 E-mail: Mark.Hollo@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Rep. Barnhart: (919) 715-2009  E-mail: Jeff.Barnhart@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Rep. R. Brown: (919) 715-0873 E-mail: Rayne.Brown@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Rep. Burr: 919-733-5908  E-mail: Justin.Burr@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Rep. Earle: (919) 715-2530  E- mail:  Beverly.Earle@ncleg.net

Members Rep. Blackwell, Rep. Brisson, Rep. Brubaker, Rep. Cotham, Rep. Crawford, Rep. Farmer-Butterfield, Rep. Howard, Rep. Hurley, Rep. Insko, Rep. Jackson, Rep. Lewis, Rep. Murry, Rep. Pierce, Rep. Randleman, Rep. Samuelson, Rep. Steen, Rep. Wainwright, Rep. Weiss, Rep. Wray

Senate Health:

Co-Chairman Sen. Stan Bingham  (919) 733-5665 E-mail: Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net

Co-Chairman Sen. Harris Blake: (919) 733-4809 E-mail: Harris.Blake@ncleg.net

Co-Chairman Sen. Louis Pate: (919) 733-5621 E-mail: Louis.Pate@ncleg.net

Vice Chairman Sen. James Forrester: (919) 715-3050 E-mail: James.Forrester@ncleg.net

Members Sen. Austin M. Allran /E-mail: Austin.Allran@ncleg.net, Sen. Bob Atwater/E-mail: Bob.Atwater@ncleg.net, Sen. Doug Berger/ E-mail: Doug.Berger@ncleg.net, Sen. Debbie A. Clary/  E-mail: Debbie.Clary@ncleg.net, Sen. Eleanor Kinnaird/ E-mail: Ellie.Kinnaird@ncleg.net, Sen. Eric Mansfield/ E-mail: Eric.Mansfield@ncleg.net, Sen. Wesley Meredith/ E-mail: Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Sen. William R. Purcell/ E-mail: William.Purcell@ncleg.net, Sen. Bill Rabon/ E-mail: Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Sen. Gladys A. Robinson/ E-mail: Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net, Sen. David Rouzer/ E-mail: David.Rouzer@ncleg.net, Sen. Bob Rucho/E-mail: Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net, Sen. Tommy Tucker/ E-mail: Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net, Sen. Jim Davis/ E-mail: Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

write congress: http://www.congress.org/signon/congressorg/mail/?id=33698&lvl=L&chamber=S&type=ST&MC_targets=

Contact information for members of the Senate Committee on Health Care and the House Committee on Health and Human Services is recorded below.

http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2011/Bills/House/PDF/H847v0.pdf

Advertisements

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. best acne system
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 19:18:44

    Marcy
    I have realized some essential things through your blog post. One other thing I would like to talk about is that there are lots of games out there designed in particular for preschool age children. They incorporate pattern acceptance, colors, family pets, and designs. These typically focus on familiarization instead of memorization. This makes little children engaged without experiencing like they are learning. Thanks

    Reply

  2. Dr Lundgren
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 03:05:47

    I am pleased that you realized some essential bits of information.
    It is also an interesting tidbit about children’s learning via familiarization vs. memorization. Feel free to add a link to where you discuss this further. (Also, I am not sure you noticed that you posted in the support ND licensing section. Therefore, you may want to post under another blog entry to get a better audience for your topic)

    Reply

  3. accounting firms
    Nov 18, 2012 @ 23:11:06

    Your mode of explaining everything in this piece of
    writing is genuinely pleasant, every one be capable of without difficulty be aware of it,
    Thanks a lot.

    Reply

    • Dr Lundgren
      May 19, 2013 @ 00:22:53

      Thank you so much of the positive feedback. I took a wee break but am enjoying getting back into blogging plus making videos for my youtube channel. Great ones coming soon…stay posted.
      Health & Joy, Dr. L

      Reply

  4. Saul
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:16:25

    This piece of writing gives clear idea designed for the new viewers of blogging, that actually how to
    do running a blog.

    Reply

  5. contourclinic.com
    Jun 18, 2013 @ 09:47:50

    Awesome! Its truly remarkable article, I have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

    Reply

  6. Long term Care
    Jun 19, 2013 @ 12:36:36

    I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Reply

    • Dr Lundgren
      Jun 21, 2013 @ 00:44:08

      Thank you, that is a fabulous complement!
      I will continue to work hard to create quality articles. I also use twitter and write for Your Tango (well, I just started that, so there is not much there, yet.)
      Thanks again. Health & Joy, -Dr. L

      Reply

    • Dr Lundgren
      Jul 25, 2013 @ 20:35:08

      Thank you so much for the complements! It feels good to know people enjoy my posts.
      Health & Joy,
      Dr. L

      Reply

  7. Jabari & Jaser
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 22:29:12

    I have read so many posts about the blogger lovers but this article is in fact
    a fastidious post, keep it up.

    Reply

  8. IN
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 21:45:15

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day.

    It’s always helpful to read through content from other authors and use something from their websites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: